Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeLatest imagesLog inRegister

Picking learning project(s)

Go down 
2 posters
AuthorMessage
Mike

Picking learning project(s) Empty
PostSubject: Picking learning project(s)   Picking learning project(s) EmptySat Sep 12, 2009 2:23 am

I've signed up for a short (10 week) night school course on engineering model making. My background isn't in engineering (although I do have a knowledge of electonics). At present I couldnt tell you the difference between a lathe & a milling machine. I havent yet had the first class, but I think I will get offered the chance to pick my own projects(s).
So, in picking a project what should I be looking to learn about that may be particularly useful to an aspiring inventor?
I do have my own ideas, in case I might miss something I thought I would thow this out here for input based on the mentor(s) experience.
Back to top Go down
StephenBozzone

StephenBozzone

PostSubject: Re: Picking learning project(s)   Picking learning project(s) EmptySat Sep 12, 2009 8:54 pm

Mike,

That sounds like a great class. If I know more about the class, I can give you a better answer. Is there a course outline or syllabus that you could post or send a link to? If it's in a document, you could post it to Google documents and share the link.

Robotic projects are very well suited to learn a number or aspect of engineering. Robots require mechanical, electrical, and software engineering. I've worked with high school and college students to build some very cool robot projects.

Send me an e-mail and I'll see if I can help.
Back to top Go down
StephenBozzone

StephenBozzone

PostSubject: Re: Picking learning project(s)   Picking learning project(s) EmptyTue Sep 15, 2009 10:38 pm

Mike,